Daily Archives: September 11, 2012

Remembering, and never forgetting.

Click the image for the list of names

It was a Tuesday, just like today.

Eleven years ago.  So much has happened between then and now that I really I can believe that it’s been that long.  The world seemed like an awful place at that time.  It was tragic, it was horrible, and it felt hopeless.  Things aren’t back to the way they were on September 10th, 2001, but I do feel better today than I did ten years and 364 days ago.  I’m not going to get political with my reasons, but the passage of time somehow did make it easier to cope.

At least for me it did.  I was one of the lucky ones; lucky in the sense that I didn’t know anyone first-hand who was lost in the attacks.  There were luckier ones, like my friend who ran out of the tower and across the Brooklyn Bridge before his office disintegrated.  And there were unlucky ones, far too many unlucky ones.   God Bless them all, and all the people who loved and needed them.

Read the rest of this entry