Daily Archives: April 3, 2014

530G: Good expectations

Discovering_Enlite

My reenactment of this.

Like some other d-bloggers, I was invited to test-drive the new Medtronic 530G pump (formally the “Medtronic Minimed 530G with Enlite”).

To be honest with you, I didn’t immediately jump at the opportunity.  I had a few reservations and took some time to think about it, but ultimately decided to give it a go.  I’ll discuss that thought process in another post.

But for now, I think it’s helpful to express and document what I expect out of this trial and this baby-step towards a closed-loop system. Only then can I deem this a “success” or not.

So what do I expect out of this system, that my current Medtronic Revel doesn’t offer?  Well, not a whole lot. Not a heck of a lot has changed since the previous version. But what has changed is pretty big. Or small. (Depending on how you look at it).

Read the rest of this entry