Daily Archives: August 1, 2013

The new job

First off, thanks to everyone who left comments last week wishing me congratulations and luck on my new job. Your good thoughts are truly touching and encouraging. Unfortunately, it’s left me with little time for DOC stuff this week; hopefully that trend doesn’t continue.

When I got to the office on Day One, one of the first things I did was put a jar of glucose tablets in my desk drawer. Mid-morning of Day 2, I (successfully) attempted to be subtle as I dipped into the stash.

In setting up my computer, I was prompted with a newfangled option to scan my fingerprints so I can log in without typing (or remembering) a password. I’m wondering how many times I can test my blood sugar on my right middle finger before it no longer scans and I need use it in a more emphatic manner.
Read the rest of this entry