Daily Archives: May 29, 2013

Faster than a speeding bolus

I am not a medical professional and this is not medical advice. People who think the internet can substitute for real medical attention can find themselves in a boatload of trouble. Like this woman. So be smart, and talk to your own doctor before making any rash decisions, mmmkay?


Super Bolus

Super Bolus, personified

At the beginning of Diabetes Blog Week, I made a passing comment about the Super Bolus. That seemed to generate quite a bit of interest in the comments, and I promised to write more about it. So, here’s my attempt at explaining what it is and how I use it.

I’ll get my obligatory jab at the FDA out of the way now, proclaiming that this feature might already be programmed into pumps if it didn’t first require decades of research and clinical studies, volumes of reports and charts and data, and a healthy dose of ambition and luck. Needless to say, it has none of those things, hence my italicized warning at the top.

Read the rest of this entry