I do my best

“People with diabetes have an increased risk of…”

“Diabetics are ten times more likely to…”

“Those who take insulin have to pay extra attention to…”

– – –

Want to get me to stop reading something? Include one of those three phrases, and you’ve lost your audience.  Even make a subtle suggestion of added risks or statistics or additional chores and I’m gone – faster than a speeding bolus. Turn the page. Close the window. Scroll to the next article. Go for a walk.

(Guess I shouldn’t have begun my post with those phrases then, huh).
Close

All of these phrases do nothing but agitate me. They mostly don’t teach me anything new, they never teach me anything useful, and they certainly don’t get me to change my ways.

Because I’m already taking care of my diabetes.

I do my best.

My best may not be the absolute-best-possible, but it’s the best I can do at any given time, given my state of mind, my willpower, my location, the contents of my pantry, and the contents of my wallet. At that moment. I’m balancing the options presented to me, and making the best decision for me, right then and there.

(In other words, there can be “better than best”, but that involves sacrifices which aren’t very good, so I’m sticking with my own version of “best”.)

Sometimes I resist temptation to make me feel powerful. And sometimes I give in to temptation to make me feel better. Sometimes it’s best to be strong, and sometimes it’s best to feel comfortable.

“My best” varies from day to day, hour to hour. Depending on the circumstance. But whatever my best may turn out to be, I’m doing it.

I don’t need incentives or fear or threats to motivate me.

I’m already doing my best.

A new list of ten potential complications won’t lead me to do any better.

I’m already doing my best.

Warning me of the consequences of high (or low) blood sugar won’t change anything; I’m doing my best.

Telling me that my eyes are more vulnerable doesn’t make me try harder. I’m already doing my best.

Telling me that my teeth may decay faster doesn’t make me choose better. I’m already doing my best.

Telling me that I may die ten years sooner doesn’t motivate me to fight harder. I’m already doing my best.

 

None of it means anything to me.

None of it.

 

So please stop it with the morbid statistics and added fears. Just stop.

It doesn’t change what I do every day of my life.

I’m still on the same mission: to keep my blood sugars in control as best I can, while living a life worth living. That makes it less likely for bad things to happen. We don’t need to go into more detail.

Regardless of the reasons, the justifications, the threats, the risks, the statistics. That’s my job.

That’s what I do.

I do my best.

Whatever happens after that is up to fate — it’s out of my hands.

And I have no regrets, because I did my best.

Posted on January 14, 2015, in Diabetes. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Those articles aren’t for PWT1d. They’re to help friends/family members feel genetically superior and to fuel them with material for their uninformed nag sessions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was perfectly said. I find myself so frustrated with articles and statistics like that. If anything, it makes me want to go eat a cupcake to prove them wrong 🙂 And as a female, there’s the added bonus of all the pregnancy and diabetes articles. Those are fun too. . . .

    Like

  3. Truly spoken from the heart with every diabetic in mind. When one of my doctors said all of those phrases to me, I walked out of the appointment and never saw him again. Your endocrinologist should never make you feel that way.

    Like

  4. Well put. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Yup, I turn the page, put down the magazine, whatever. Thankfully, my physicians are pretty good about looking for the positives.

    Like

  6. Excellent post. Bravo!

    Like

Discuss.

