Eggsceedingly frustrating

I’ve been having a really hard time controlling my afternoon blood sugars lately.

On Monday, during lunch, I decided I might have some luck if I do it low-carb.  Eggs have always been good for me – they are filling, and when it comes to blood sugars, they are predictable.

So when I went to the cafe downstairs at my office to order my lunch, I asked for a cheese-and-veggie omelette, expecting I’d have a good afternoon. I declined the toast that normally accompanies the meal (still being Passover, bread and bread-related products are off-limits anyway).

Well, no such luck. The simple combination of eggs, cheddar cheese, mushrooms, peppers, and onions sent my BG up high. Four hours (and several correction/rage boluses later), I’m still waiting to recover.

The one thing I noticed, as I kept a sharp eye on the person preparing it, is that unlike in the image above, she took a carton of pre-scrambled eggs out of the refrigerator and poured a bit of it on the griddle.

In the past, I’d had similar meals (and post-meal spikes), and always attributed it to the bread, but now I’m thinking there’s something in that egg mix. Maybe some sort starch to “thicken” it, or maybe just plain old simple sweet stuff to make it taste better.  It’s incredibly frustrating.

I’ve now written off pretty much everything that this place serves for lunch (or breakfast) as being “diabetically safe”. And I simply don’t have the time to prepare and bring lunch every day. It’s frustrating, and I’m running out of options.

Does anyone know just what’s in there?

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Depending on your body’s response to maltose – that’s what is in egg beaters – that could be what’s sending your BGs north. At least in that meal. As you suggested, these processed foods can do nasty things to your system. I guess our million dollar question of the server needs to be – real or not?!

    Like

  2. Egg whites (99%), less than 1%: Natural flavor, color (includes beta carotene), spices, salt, onion powder, vegetable gums (xanthan gum, guar gum). — Egg Beaters ingredient list.

    It lists 1 carb gram per serving.

    I have no idea why a basically carb free lunch didn’t work. Could it be your basal rate is too low in the afternoon? Or maybe diabetes is just a pain in the butt. Sorry I couldn’t be more help. Hugs. Hope things get better soon.

    Like

    • Thanks for checking into it, but I’m not talking just egg-whites, it’s the whole egg (evidently with some other stuff too… Only it’s poured from a milk-like carton). Not that it should make a difference. I did see some product online that listed milk as an ingredient with 1 1/2 carbs per serving, but even that’s not much — I figure what I got was a different brand with less “real” egg and more cheap stuff.
      I’ve been wondering about afternoon basal rates for awhile – but the evidence from one day’s basal test (to be posted later in the week) proves otherwise. Maybe it’s just the butt-pain thing.

      Like

  3. I sometimes wonder if they are pre-made like that, if they have milk added to the mixture. It’s the only reasonable explanation I can come up with because milk and I (well at least my blood sugars) don’t tend to be on friendly terms.

    Like

  4. I personally think that your body goes into carb-starvation mode…..you NEED some carbs to survive, and your liver is like, “what the what, NO carbs for lunch? This dude needs energy! I’ll spout out some sugar for you!” I am not a scientist nor a medical professional, but in times when I’ve had soaring sugars post-no-carb-meal, I make sure I’m well-hydrated with water, and then eat a few crackers or something carb-y. Low and behold, within minutes my sugar starts coming down. It’s weird and miraculous. YDMV.

    Like

  5. My cafeteria at work will use real eggs if you request them. Perhaps check if next time you can just request they use real eggs instead of the carton stuff? I also will go through the sandwich line and request tuna, egg, or chicken salad on a bed of lettuce with tomato, etc. Basically, whatever sandwich fixins’ you want, but hold the bread. Those are some “carb free” lunches I’ve gotten at my work cafe…oh, and also just the salad bar.

    Like

  6. Oh that’s so interesting. I think what Rhonda said might be right on though with your body craving the carbs and not getting any. I personally haven’t noticed a spike in BGs when eating eggs out but I don’t think I could ever isolate it enough to attribute a higher BG to that (I can’t ever seem to get my basal rates, I:C ratios, corrections right).

    Like

Discuss.

