True confessions

test canceled

Have you ever applied blood to the test strip, and then in haste, removed and thrown out the strip before the countdown reached zero and the result was displayed?

I have.

 

Have you ever pricked your finger, then forgotten which one you chose, leaving you to squeeze three or four different digits looking for the surprise appearance of blood?

I have.

 

Have you ever harpooned yourself with a CGM sensor, only to have it fall right out again because you forgot to first remove the adhesive covering?

I have.

 

Have you ever lost your place while counting to four? (One glucose tablet.. chomp-chomp; two glucose tablets… chomp-chomp; four…no… wait…two…seven…eleventeen…?)

I have.

 

Have you ever tested your blood sugar… thirty seconds after testing your blood sugar…because you’d forgotten that you’d done it already?

I have.

 

Have you ever fasted for a blood-draw which, as it turns out, didn’t require you to not eat beforehand?

I have.

 

Have you ever awoken in the middle of the night, groggy and hypoglycemic, to find that you only dreamed of testing and treating the low, but never actually did it?

I have.

 

Have you ever confessed – publicly to the world – some of the absolutely boneheaded things you’ve done that left you feeling dumber than dirt?

I have. And I’m quite sure I’ll do all of them again.

Posted on February 24, 2014, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I love this post! It’s good to know that I’m not the only genius that doesn’t remember which finger I poked, or how many glucose tabs I have eaten, or taken the strip out before the test was done….only to poke my finger again and hope to remember which one I poked. πŸ™‚ It’s a vicious cycle I tell you. It would be nice if I also remembered to change out the lancet once in a while….like we all SHOULD and don’t do. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing Scott!

    Like

  2. This really made my day Scott! Glad that I am not the only one who has done those things!

    Like

  3. All of the above, and then some! Have you ever gone through all the steps and button pushes of taking a bolus to then forget to press the last “confirm bolus” button then wonder a couple of hours later why your blood sugar has skyrocketed? I have. Thanks for this post!

    Like

    • My pump doesn’t have a “confirm bolus” screen, but it DOES default to the last type of bolus (a step I usually just ACT through without looking at the screen, since 99.9% of the time it’s “normal”).

      So if my previous bolus was a square or dual-wave (aka “extended”) bolus, it defaults to that one, and though I think I’m done, the pump is waiting for me to give it a time-duration. After no response, it cancels the bolus and my blood sugar skyrockets. This is probably the biggest pet-peeve I have with my (otherwise wonderful) pump.

      Like

  4. sigh sigh! hells to the yes to all of this.
    Lately my guffaw has been simply to forget it all. Forgetting if I bloused is a common one and a dangerous one being on MDI.

    Like

  5. I like this post lots too! Very true very similar, simply just very T1D πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Ha, yup, I’ve done just about all of them. My least favorite is when I fasted and didn’t need too. I seriously need coffee before leaving the house.

    Like

  7. Yup!
    Thanks for making me feel normal, sort of…

    Like

  8. Loved this post. My classic is testing my blood sugar and forgeting to ever look at the result. Genious.

    (Good to see you are blogging. I remember when you joined TuDiabetes years back.)

    Like

  1. Pingback: We’re not EVER perfect. | Diabetes Blog - Happy-Medium.net

Discuss.

