True2Go: It’s sooo cuuuttteeee!!!

True2GoIt’s the True2Go meter which I purchased this morning at Duane Reade pharmacy (the legacy name of the NYC-area pharmacy that is slowly morphing into Walgreens).

The meter is tiny and snaps right on the cap of the test strip vial. A tiny piece of fabric similar to a beer koozie surrounds the vial, and as another little band for the tiny lancer device. It is, by far, the most compact meter system I’ve ever seen.

You’ll never see me bragging about for a cute pouch for a CGM receiver, or a pump holder, or an infusion-site concealer. I never expected to write a blog about cuteness. “Cute” just isn’t my thing.ย But I just can’t help myself with this one.

I accidentally left my meter at home when I left for work this morning, and by the time I realized it, it was too late to turn back. But I needed one. The CGM sensor I’d been wearing had been tracking remarkably accurate, but I knew once I had to METER BG NOW at 11:18 am, it would stop (Dexcom’s work differently, by the way). So I walked into the drug store and asked for the cheapest meter – which included strips and lancets – that they had. The pharmacist handed me this little thing, and it set me back $11.49.

It’s bright nail-polish red. I guess that makes it good for hiding blood-stains. But it works, and that’s what matters. It also fits neatly in my pocket.

The only problem, I discovered, is that I have nowhere to put the used test strips….

Posted on June 7, 2013, in Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. That IS cute! May have to pick one up just to leave at my desk at work!

    Like

    • Well, I got it in red because it was the first on the shelf, I was in a panic, and I just needed a meter before starting work. (similar story of how I ended up with a hot-pink One Touch UltraMini). Not the most masculine color, I know (It also comes in blue, and probably others) but I didn’t much care at the time.

      Like

  2. Nice! I have thought of getting one for my back up, the pharmacy here sells then for $59.99 and it comes with 25 strips though :/

    Like

    • Sixty dollars? Holy schnikes! You should look online for one … assuming they can ship to Canada. They’re really quite cheap. (And the sales for the store-branded meters – same meters, different names – seem to rotate through their models…)

      Like

  3. I kinda want one. It’ll look great with my lime green and hot pink One Touch minis.

    Like

  4. It also comes in blue and purple ๐Ÿ˜€

    I use mine particularly while flying and on theme park days – basically the times I want to be as low profile as possible.

    Like

  5. Purple – yay! I would definitely be convinced to buy one out of sheer cuteness. Yeah, I’m a girl like that.

    Like

  6. That is definitely a cute little meter. I am sure you totally rock that bright nail polish red! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. “I guess that makes it good for hiding blood-stains.” <—ha ha ha!

    Like

  8. I got a couple of these just for the itsy-bitsy lancing device! Love it!

    Like

Discuss.

