#dblogweek – Day 2 – One great thing

For the next week, I’ll be participating in the 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog Week (for more info, click on the banner above). Each day, D-Bloggers will be (mostly) blogging about a common topic but offering their own perspectives.


Today, Karen wants me to write about something that I do that is spectacular.  This is a hard one.

You could ask my family and friends about what I do to take care of my diabetes, and I’m sure they’ll tell you all about the things they see me do    They’ll see me doing these things so that I can live – not pretending to do it and not “skipping a day”, and they’ll be impressed.  When it comes to the things they see me do, not only can they write a list, but they can vouch that I actually do the things on that list.

Yes, when it comes to diabetes care, I do what I have to do.  And those items on the list, in my family’s mind: they’re real, and they’re spectacular.

But to me, there’s nothing spectacular about taking care of diabetes.  This isn’t to say that it isn’t incredibly demanding.  Taking care of diabetes, whether one’s own or that of a loved one, requires people to push themselves to unthinkable levels; to attempt, and achieve, what things they never dreamed of before diagnosis.

But I don’t take care of myself in order to test my limits.  I didn’t opt-in to diabetes as an endurance-challenge for me.  It’s not a marathon in which I can push myself to finish, then relax and be proud of what I’ve accomplished.  If I wanted to really see what I’m capable of, I’d have signed up and trained for the NYC Marathon.  That’s a noble attempt and, if completed, a spectacular accomplishment.

Diabetes isn’t about trying to win, all the while knowing that if I don’t, there’s always next time.  There is no next time, and I didn’t choose this test.  Diabetes is something that I face every day of my life.  This is for real – all day, every day.  There’s no spring-training in which to try something new when it doesn’t really count.  There’s no offseason in which to let the aching scar-tissue heal before the next big push.  There’s no finish line.  Quite simply, I go until I can’t go anymore, and then it’s Game Over.  Permanently.

While updating my Blog-Roll last week, and came across a quote in the “About” section of Alexis’s I Run on Insulin blog.  Alexis writes:

“Well controlled diabetes is the leading cause of nothing.”

So what is it that I do that is spectacular?

Nothing.

And I aim to keep it that way.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in D-blog Week, D-blog week 2012, Diabetes, Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “It’s not a marathon in which I can push myself to finish, then relax and be proud of what I’ve accomplished.”
    Maybe one day! 😉
    I love your post, though. It’s true, some people see us as overachievers or someone out of the ordinary, but truthfully, I don’t see anything special about myself other than I’m a mom. Diabetes is just the boulder tied to my ankle, and I’ve got to run its marathon. We all do.

    Like

  2. Interesting perspective. We didn’t sign up for this – we don’t manage it every day because we’re trying to beat anyone. We’re just trying to stay alive. Sometimes we get it right, and a lot of times we don’t. I was telling my friend the other day that I was having a hard time with this prompt to come up with what I do well.. her respone was, “Well, you’re still alive. You’ve done that well. That counts, right?” Yes, I suppose it does. 🙂

    Like

  3. You are right, there really isn’t a finish line. You picked a great quote!

    Like

  4. LOL at that first link! I don’t think your family says exactly THAT about you or we have something else to worry about 😉

    Like

Discuss.

