#dblogweek – Day 1 – Find-a-friend

For the next week, I’ll be participating in the 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog Week (for more info, click on the banner above). Each day, D-Bloggers will be (mostly) blogging about a common topic but offering their own perspectives.


The first post of Diabetes Blog Week is about introducing our friends, or telling you about their blogs that you may not already know about.  I suppose this might not be too difficult for those who write the really popular blogs, but when it comes to me, it’s hard to suggest someone that you may not have yet found.  I mean, you found this blog, and when it comes to popularity, I’m pretty low on the chain.

Of course, if you’d like to meet some new blogs, you can always check on the Blog-ROLL.  I’ve just updated it.  The link is always at the top of the page.

So rather than try to introduce you to someone new, I’m going to tell a story on how I was introduced to another D-blogger: Valerie Anne, AKA DiabeticallyYours.  If you haven’t visited her site yet, go ahead and give it a read.  I’ll wait here.

In general, I like to develop relationships with fellow PWD’s by reading and commenting on blogs, TuDiabetes posts, and – over the past few days – on Twitter.  Sending a private email is incredibly rare for me.  But Valerie Anne was one of the first followers of my blog, which of course prompted me to go and read hers.  The very first day I read her blog, she had posted a pretty typical lighthearted, fun post.  One-a-day is usually the limit for bloggers.  But later that day, a second one appeared, and what I read really concerned me.  Her last insulin bottle had just shattered on the kitchen floor, she had no backup, and her pump was running on insulin fumes.  She didn’t have enough to get her through the next morning.

Thinking of the possibilities of DKA and sickness and her sweet little boy not being cared for, I fired off an email to the address in the “Contact Me” part of the site and suggested all kinds of workarounds: everything from temporary basals to twenty-four hour pharmacies.  That night, I couldn’t help lie in bed wondering if this person I barely knew anything about would make it to the morning.

Whatever made me do it?  I think it’s just that we share a common bond.  (No, it’s not that I love hockey and she’s Canadian… but yeah, that’s pretty cool too.)  We both have Type 1 diabetes.  And we take care of our own.

Relationships and friendships develop in strange ways online, and this is one of the more unusual ones.  I like to think that the trust and concern we have for one another is a bit different, just because of the circumstance we met online.  (And before anyone gets any ideas, there is no romance brewing here – we’re both happily married!).

Valerie Anne, I’m sure you’re reading this, and I hope it doesn’t come across as embarrassing.  There’s nothing here that hasn’t been posted already

To fast-forward to the end of the story, everything miraculously worked out fine; her morning BG was actually dramatically better than I could comprehend, or even than I could achieve on a full reservoir of insulin.


I know I promised a post describing Medtronic’s Carelink Pro, but I’ve been a bit overwhelmed and haven’t gotten to it yet. It’ll come next week… promise!

Posted on May 14, 2012, in D-blog Week, D-blog week 2012, DOC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Scott! That’s crazy! I am sitting here, drinking my coffee while my son is watching his morning cartoons and I was about to continue writing my dBlog week#1which I started writing last night… And it is about you! About the same way we met! Hahaha! I found myself laughing when I saw my name in there and the exact same reason why I am currently writing about this.

    Thanks for validating this Dlobg Friendship though 😉 And you’re right! I AM reading this, but no, it’s not embarrassing!

    Like

Discuss.

